New Art + Retail Coming to Detroit’s Avenue of Fashion

detroit-livernois-corridor-avenue-of-fashion1

The Rebirth of the Avenue of Fashion

There will be lots happening on the Avenue of Fashion September 20th. On that date, Revolve Detroit will host the Detroit Design Festival and launch the Art + Retail on the Ave project.

I have followed the Art + Retail on the Ave project very closely and I am so excited that it will soon be a reality. The project includes art projects, permanent retail, pop-up retail, and community events.

20 artists from around the world and 12 Detroit-area retailers will take part in the Livernois Avenue revitalization project. Some of the artist come from as far as England and as close as the local neighborhood. You can read more information about the project and the winners on Revolve Detroit’s website.

Out of all the winners, the one I am most excited about is the upscale resale shop Thrift on the Avenue. I can already tell that it will be a hit with the community.

Detroit Art in Progress

I was in the area a few days ago and my excitement level went through the roof when I saw a partly finished mural on the wall of one of the storefronts. I can’t wait to see the finished work.

detroit-mural-livernois-corridor-avenue-of-fashion

And imagine my surprise when I stumbled upon one of the winning artists while on my stroll down the avenue. I greeted the young artist and asked where she was from. She stated that she was from Los Angeles. I congratulated her on being selected to take part in the project and wished her well.

I will be attending the grand opening, so be sure to check back for my post on the event. I will be sure to take lots of pictures.

What do you think about the revitalization project?

2 thoughts on “New Art + Retail Coming to Detroit’s Avenue of Fashion

  1. I’m excited that this is happening. A couple of friends and I invested in that neighborhood a bit when we purchased an abandoned home, & gutted & rebuilt it (on Turner Street, where the press conference was last Monday re: the demolition money from the federal government). My friend still lives in it; I stay there when I’m in town, and might live there again in a few years myself. That neighborhood should be really vibrant, with 2 colleges and the variety of residential areas. I look forward to seeing what’s new next year when I visit!

  2. That’s awesome that the home that you and your friends rebuilt was selected as the site for the demolition money news conference.
    There are just so many wonderful things going on in the city. That’s exactly why I decided to started this blog. I know that there are other blogs reporting similar news, but I wanted to put a more personal spin on it, as opposed to reporting in a newsy fashion.
    And you are correct, the variety of residential neighborhoods makes that area a true jewel. It has Green Acres, Sherwood Forest, University District, Palmer Woods and the Bagley Community all within a 5 mile radius.
    Definitely stayed tuned. There’s more to come in Detroit’s comeback story. History will be made. 🙂

What do you think?

